DJ Slish Presents: The Valley

gunhill

DJ Slish was the perfect candidate, and pretty much the only person I know who loves old school music as I do. When talking about Old School Hip-Hop one has to be specific. You see nowadays, one person’s Old School can be in an entirely different era than others. If you are in your 20’s for instance, Jay-Z & Nas could be considered Old School. The thirty-somethings can look back to Biggie and Tupac as their Forefathers of Hip-Hop. Well, myself and DJ Slish, as well as fellow 40+ Hip-Hop heads know what Old School Really is.

The songs in this playlist could very well be a History lesson on various types of Old School Hip-Hop. From Doug E. Fresh and Public Enemy, to MC Lyte and Ultramagnetic…Slish blends these classics with reckless abandon, forcing you to sing, or better yet, Rap along.

This set is called The Valley because that’s where we grew up. Going to the Haffen Park to watch the DJ’s spin the hottest Hip Hop and R&B tracks was a revelation to my prepubescent ears. Aurally engaged while watching the DJ’s cut it up, and the MC’s served up their Freshest rhymes.

1978 to 1986 was the Golden Era of Hip Hop. The Parties were Tight, the girls were Fresh, and the music was Dope!

This set will undoubtedly become a classic, so put it in your iPhone, iPod, Zune, PSP, or just download to your desktop and bob your head as if your hearing these treasures for the first time.

“SLISH DID IT AGAIN, OH NO….”

Next week I’ll be taking it back quite a bit further. A mix of late 70’s and early 80’s Hip-Hop, and the songs that inspired the DJ’s to create this new form of Music, that has since taken over the world….It’s called “The Genesis”.

Peace & GrantLOVE

[listen now]

Download: DJ Slish – The Valley [right click, save as]

Tracks:

MC Lyte – Cha Cha Cha
Eric B & Rakim – Make em Clap to this
Ultramagnetic MC’s – Ego Trippin
Mc Shan – The Bridge
Boogie Down Productions – South Bronx
Big Daddy Kane – Smooth Operator
Biz Markie – Nobody Beats The Biz
Special Ed – The Mission
Ultramagnetic MC’s – Ease Back
Kwame – The Rhythm
Doug E. Fresh – Keep Rising To The Top
K-Solo – Your Mom’s in my Business
Black Moon – Who Got Da Props
A Tribe Called Quest – Luck of Lucien
Doug E. Fresh – The Show
Chubb Rock – Caught Up
Public Enemy – Public Enemy Number One

Enjoy This One… It’ll make you smile & reminisce!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 thoughts on “DJ Slish Presents: The Valley

  1. I’ve got my peeps hooked up…they piggy back off my downloads from y’all…that Gun Hill Road sign sure brought back some mems of my days in the Bx…Nuff love!

    Like

  2. Okay, maybe I am a fool, but I cannot figure out how to download these mixes to my iPod. I can get them on to my mac via the music folder. I click and drag the sucker to the iTunes folder–and there it is but not in the music list nor on the playlist.

    Help!

    Like

  3. I so heart you guys. As a music lover, it’s nice to have a spot where I can get REAL music without all the bells and whistles a la T-Pain et al. What you guys put on here is the truth and I’ve had some of your playlists on repeat for an entire day. My iPod smiles because of you. Thanks and keep up the good work.

    love to live; live to love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

