GrantLOVE: A Sample Session – Kanye West

Kanye West, love him or hate him, this cat has something to say in this music game. As an avid Soul music lover, how can I not like Kanye West? Forget all of the ego driven stunts, his outlandish, sometimes comical dressing style, or his boasts of being not only the greatest rapper alive, but the greatest human in the world, Kanye West has an ear for good music. It is that ear for music that first led me to becoming a fan (musically speaking of course).

Ever since I first heard “Through The Wire” I knew this kid had something special. To be able to rap with your jaw wired shut is one thing, to create a smash hit is something else. Soul Samples are nothing new to Hip Hop, in fact Hip Hop was born on samples. Rappers Delight used a sample from Chic’s “Good Times”, and pretty much every early Rap record was based on someone else’s music. Liquid Liquid’s “Cavern” laid the foundation for Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five’s “The Message”. Freedom’s “Get Up And Dance”, Incredible Bongo Band’s “Apache”, and the list goes on forever.

When I heard that Kanye was the first to use a sped up Soul sample I laughed. Although he wasn’t the first to invent the wheel, he definitely has mastered it. Here are some of the songs used in many of his own hits, as well as hits he’s produced for artists ranging from Alicia Keys to The Teriyaki Boyz.

I purposely did not include the names of the songs that used these samples, primarily because it takes away from the listening experience. Trust me, you’ll end up listening more for the sample than enjoying the actual original recording.

“It’s not old, if it’s new to you”~GrantLOVE

LISTEN NOW:

DOWNLOAD: GrantLOVE: A Sample Session – Kanye West

Tracks:

Creative Source – I’d Find you Anywhere
Norman Connors feat. Ada Dyer – Invitation
Ray Charles – I Got A Woman
Honeycone – Innocent Til Proven Guilty
Mandrill – Movement IV (Peace & Love)
Bloodstone – I’m Just Doin’ My Job
Shirley Bassey – Diamonds Are Forever
Lenny Williams – Cause I Love You
Chaka Khan – Through The Fire
Lauryn Hill – Mystery Of Iniquity
Hank Crawford – Wildflower
The Originals – Sunrise
Graham Nash – Chicago
The Jackson Five – I Want You Back
The Main Ingredient – Let Me Prove My Love To You

2 thoughts on “GrantLOVE: A Sample Session – Kanye West

Leave a Reply

