Underground Gems 2: 90’s R&B

underground gems gif art

You may remember the 90’s but you may not remember some of these classic R&B tracks. Black music was exploding all over the place in the 90’s as new groups and artists were releasing records at an incredible pace. BoyzIIMen and Jodeci may have gotten all the attention, but groups like Ideal, Ruff Endz,  Profyle, Something for the People, Next, and so many more were battling it out for airplay and club spins. There was so much music in the era that to this day, there are still groups and artists that I’ve never heard of, and I was smack dap in the middle of the music business for the majority of the decade. Suffice it to say that I’ve procured my fair share of demo’s and promo copies. I just might make this an ongoing series of Underground Gems. I haven’t even touched the surface of all the underground classics we had at Motown.

Sam Salter – Thinkin & Trippin
Whitehead Brothers – Your Love Is A 187
Mya & Sisqo – All About Me
Playa – Cheers To You
Public Announcement – Body Bumpin’
Carl Thomas – I Wish
Profyle – Damn
Horace Brown – Taste Your Love
Ideal – Whatever You Wanna Do
Ruff Endz – No More
Next – Wifey
N’Essence – You’ll Never Find
Tweet – Oops Oh My
Mona Lisa – Can’t Be Wasting My Time
Mya & Jay Z – Best Of Me Remix
Jodeci & Wu Tang Clan – Freakin You Remix
Ronald Isley & Lil Kim– Float On Remix
JS – Taste My Ice Cream
ATL – Callin’ All Girls

Leave a Reply

